I have never blogged before. I am 38, a mother of a 3 year old ornery boy, and an oilfield wife and stay at home mom. I barely keep it together some days and I often wonder if there are other moms like me out there, so I wanted to start a blog to find out. I wanted to reach out to those of you who think you are a fish out of water or feel like you will never fit in among the other young moms out there.

First of all, let me talk about something I told my husband the other day. I told him I was a “farm girl at heart”. I like my “muck boots” or “gum boots” as my dad used to call them. I like enjoying nature and I miss riding 4wheelers and living in the country and being able to do what I want with my own yard and space around me. I grew up on a small farm and had a good friend whose parents and grandparents ran a farm and I got used to that life. My older brother and I ran around all over my parents farm and my grandma’s farm during our childhoods. We had that awesome outdoor childhood that is only talked about in reminiscing tales of running by ourselves all day through the fields and the woods and playing in the creeks and by the pond at my grandma’s house. Our parents weren’t worried about us being out of their sight or falling in the pond or getting bit by snakes, or if they were they didn’t show it. We learned to pay attention to our surroundings on our own and we knew to avoid snakes and other dangerous things we encountered while out and about in nature.

I had a friend who lived in town and I was introduced to a different world of video games and pizza rolls and toaster strudels. I loved that her dad liked 7up just like I did. My mom had to stretch her pennies due to having a large household, so we didn’t get to eat food like that very often. We didn’t know we were missing anything. It was just nice to try something new. I am glad I was exposed to different worlds and ways of living. I enjoyed going to stay with my friend and being able to walk to town and see our friends and shoot a game of pool or walk to the park. We were from a really small town, so I’m sure everyone was keeping an eye on us to tell our parents if we were up to anything we shouldn’t have been doing.

Well, that’s all the story telling I have for today but I just wanted to introduce myself and tell you why I call myself a farm girl at heart. I hope my husband and I can have our own little farm some day and I can get back to my roots.

